Introduction

Hello.

I have started this blog after being goaded by a friend of mine to do so. I have always been sceptical about the readership this kind of blog attracts but as my friend pointed out wisely, this is better than nothing. I, like many who start blogs, have literary ambitions. And no matter how good an author is, he is nothing if he is not read. Appreciation and acceptance of his art is what makes an artist, I have been told. Likewise, an author exists because of his readers. They vindicate his choice of profession and his talent. Perhaps, if it had not been for the chance discovery of an author by an idle reader strolling the avenues of cyber-world, he would not have become great.

As Thomas Gray had written many years back,

“Full many a gem of purest ray serene

The dark unfathom’d caves of ocean bear:

Full many a flower is born to blush unseen,

And waste its sweetness on the desert air.”

The sheer mathematical probability that someone will come across this blog among millions of others, is a bleak low. It is bleaker, if one multiplies with it, the possibility of this blog carrying posts with noticeable titles. Unfortunately, I cannot bring myself to write posts with titles like “20 Reasons why WordPress is better than Blogspot”, ” 16 Reasons Why Fools Like You Will Share This Post Wildly” and “13 Things to Do Before You Switch off Your Internet and Die”, hence I can safely rule out the possibility of my posts becoming viral.

However, I will pin my hope on that lone reader who will stumble upon my post, somehow, while drifting through the murky miasma of blogs on the internet. Perhaps a lucky ‘keyword’ in the title will bring this post to the attention of a reader who will appreciate or criticise it and leave a comment saying so. For I echo what millions before me have, and millions after me will, the concern and need to be heard and read and acknowledged.

I do not know if I possess the “purest ray serene”,but it will be a waste nonetheless if I do not find out.

3 thoughts on “Introduction

  1. Agnitra my dear friend, very glad to have came across your article finally, and not an article you proclaim to have been written by “one of my friends”. I still remember when you made me read that article on “we rule the school” I knew it was written by your. Cheers old sport keep going.

    Like

Leave a Reply

